Quizlet: Because Flashcards Can Do More than Simple Maths for First Graders

Hello fellow human beings (the bugs in your home ought not to read this)!

The end of the semester is way too close. My first practicum in high school barely had the time to end that I am already planning my second practicum in elementary school. It’s crazy how time flies. I am one more homework assignment away from gauging both of my eyes out in the most violent way I can think of.  I’m not generally like this but the sheer exhaustion that I feel right now makes me want to engage in the following process:

It wouldn’t be too wise though. So, instead of throwing it all away to go do the wackiest job out there, I am here one again to bring you another piece of my newly acquired knowledge of the forever expanding internet. I want to present my newest discovery, which is called Quizlet.

WHAT IN THE WORLD IS THIS FABULOUS OBJECT OF FANTASY ABOUT?

As mentioned on the technological blog EdJudo, this baby allows you to create your own flashcards that you can customize with your own terms and definitions and freaking share them with your friends like it’s their birthday. We all remember those ridiculous flashcards that we had when we were kids that were supposed to help us learn additions, simple multiplications, etc. Well, back then they weren’t even flashcards, just old, stinky, boring cards made out of cardboard. I couldn’t stand the hell of those. For me, they were useless as they weren’t challenging enough, but they were still useful for most of us students so… what if we could do more with them? When I came across this, I thought ”This darling is just what I’ve been looking for all along!”

But hey, guess what? There’s even more that can be done with this darling.

GET THE HELL OUT OF HERE!! I HAVE LOST ENOUGH BLOOD FROM READING THIS BLOG!

Yeah, I’m a teacher. Of course, I’d like to find one way of learning and studying that works for everyone, but the reality says otherwise. This online tool gives you so many options for studying, it’s insane. You get six main cuztomizable ones:

  1. The first one, of course, is flashcards. This one is a great way to test our students’ memory of vocabulary terms, I think. But hey, not to be excluding other subjects, who said it couldn’t be used by history teachers? Or Geography teachers? You can create your own flashcards with the content that you want to practice, of course, but you can also share them with others and use ones made by other people to help you study (Of course, everything’s organized in categories. So you don’t have to wander around the website for hours looking for whatever you’re looking for. Everything that is created on the website can be saved online).
  2. The second one is called the Speller. Basically, it allows you to spell what you hear. This darling works in freaking 18 languages baby. That’s right. I remember somewhere along the course of my practicum, I was helping this young girl spell ”you”. The first time, she wrote ”why o you”. That kid was great with sentence structure but, let’s face it, spelling is harder for some kids than others. We all have our own areas of difficulties.
  3. The third option is called Learn. This one basically tracks your progress and identifies the things that you tend to get wrong. I can think of so many students who just can’t seem to find what they need to work on to first to give themselves a chance at success. It sounds silly to some, but they can easily forget that they tend to have difficulties remembering that the past tense of ”eat” is ”ate”, not ”eated”.
  4. The fourth one is called Test. This one allows you to actually create your own test and get a grade on it. We’ve all had THAT feeling: It’s time for the exam and boy did you wish you had taken more formative quizzes before. Well, there you go. It’s that simple. By the way, as mentioned of EdShelf, you can create multiple types of tests, depending on what you need.
  5. The fifth one is called Scatter. That one allows you to match words with definitions, events with dates, capitals with countries, etc. There’s no limit darling!
  6. The last one is for our hyperactive darlings, it’s the Space Race. This one allows you to get points by typing in words before their definitions disappear off the screen. Some kids prefer competition. If you ask me, it’s perfect for that purpose.

What’s nice about it is that you can freakin’ print those babies. Yup, if you want to carry them with you, you can. No need for a computer. What’s even more awesome, as I found out on TRT (Technological Resources for Teachers), you can print everything in condensed tables or individually, in glossary, table, or index card format.

What’s nice also is that you don’t need to install anything. This darling is all online baby. Students will certainly appreciate that. So, it’s easy access to all kinds of study material for all.

IS THIS LIKE A FREE FOR ALL BUFFET FOR STUDYING?

I guess you could look at it this way…

Leave a Reply

