Google Drive: Cripples Edition

Hello my dearest little ducklings (What? I have to change things up every now and then..)!

It’s almost the end of the semester! For that reason, I figured out it’d be smarter for me to write this blog post now, before stabbing myself in both eyes out of sheer exhaustion. I hear you all:

WHAT IN THE WORLD OF TECHNOLOGICAL WONDERS ARE YOU BRINGING TO THE TABLE TODAY?

Oh, have no fear for I shall bring you a piece of my forever expanding knowledge of the internet. I’m not an technological mastermind yet, but let me tell you about my latest object of interest: Google Drive. Doesn’t it sound awesome?

GOOGLE DRIVE? I ALREADY HAVE A DRIVER’S LICENCE. CAN YOU EVEN DRIVE GOOGLE? IS THIS A TRICK QUESTION?

Well, not in that sense. Briefly, as described on Google Drive’s homepage, this baby allows you to do several things:

  1. You can access Google Docs files anywhere and from any computer. If I didn’t know any better, I’d assume I had ultimate power over Google. My practically inexistant salary proves otherwise. But wait, there’s more!
  2. You can also store all your fabulous Google Docs in Google Drive’s cloud. This is similar to Dropbox in that way but I find that Google Drive brings one more lapdance advantage to the table. That being said…
  3. You may collaborate with other people with a Gmail account on the same Google Doc, at the same time AND save it in the cloud

CONTROL YOURSELVES. I know this is a lot of power in our hands but let’s take the time to look at what this baby has to offer to us, people whose mental state sales is on the bordeline between that of the sheer genius and that of the vegetative type (again, most people tend to call us teachers).

I CAN BARELY CONTROL MYSELF!

I couldn’t list all the possible tools that Google Drive offers in line with that I’ve just told you, but here are my favourites. Just so you know, I base my criteria for my any of my favourite web tools on the two following statements:

  1. It doesn’t take a master’s degree to figure out how in world I am supposed to use it and what I am supposed to use it for. Let’s face it: Students won’t want to use it if it’s too complicated. That’s just reality.
  2. If he was still alive, my parrot could probably figure it out because of how freaking easy to use this tool is. Just sprinkle some millet on the keyboard and boy, are you in for a ride! (Note: this criterion is meant to be a joke, but I do look for web tools which require minimal motor control and intellectual capacities to figure out.)

With no further due, here is a list of my five favourite Google Drive tools (as mentioned on Google Drive’s blog and how I’d abuse the Hell out of those with my students:

  1. GoogleKeep: Say your students keep ”forgetting” their homework assignments’ due dates, project guidelines, class notes etc. What are you gonna do? Beat them to death with a crowbar? Tempting, I know. But GoogleKeep is another reminder that we can introduce to them. Since most students have given up the project of taking notes of what they have to do in their agendas, this baby could pretty much serve as an electronic notepad. Notes, photos, checklists.. you name it. And guess what? You can sync them to any devices so that they can be accessible from anywhere. Forgot your assignment’s guidelines? Oopsies, no oopsies. Attractive visuals make it the Gucci of notepads.
  2. GoogleForms: This one is pretty simple, in my opinion. Basically, it allows you to create questionnaires and surveys and automatically collect answers in a spreadsheet (That’s right students, you have no other choice but to participate.) Grammar quizzes, comprehension tests, self-evaluation spreadsheets… You name it. And what I absolutely LOVE about this tool is that you can sign documents electronically using HelloFax. Oh no, this student’s parents didn’t sign his exam. Oopsies! It’s not possible anymore. They can now access the file online and sign it so the teacher can know they’ve seen it. Mouahahaha!
  3. Google Slides: Another alternative to Powerpoint (just thinking about it makes me want to engage in an involuntary act of regurgitation, a.k.a. vomit). Thank the Lord. Again, just like you can with any Google Doc, you can work on these presentations offline and save them online at the same time, without even having to press the button ”save”. That’ll save us a great deal of trouble in terms of losing work in progress. So, if you accidentally click on the ”X” button while working on your presentation, it’ll save your document automatically, which Powerpoint (Gosh, this name stimulates my gag reflex…) doesn’t do.
  4. Gone Google Story Builder: You could already collaborate on Google Docs, but a few months ago, Google Drive came up with a feature especially for collaborating on stories, whether it’s novels, poems, short stories, etc. There’s even a tutorial that you can follow to get started, but it’s really easy. I’d have students collaborate on all kinds of stories, poems, scripts for video recordings, even guidelines for a debate! Again, students can collaborate on their story at the same time from different computers because they can see what the other student is doing as he is writing. No more sheep commotions around a single computer.
  5. Research inside Google Documents: Little did I know, Google Drive has recently included a research pane that allows people to search through existing Google Docs,  maps, quotes, images, and much more. Students can access the work of other students (and so can teachers…) and use it to find information for various assignments. Simple, easy, doesn’t require an IQ that’s much higher than the one of a plant. Just how I like it.

Those are my favourite but there are so many others. I would again, advise you to look at Google Drive’s blog for more tools and ideas on how to use them. There’s so much to look at, it’s worth giving it a try.

WILL I EVER STOP BLEEDING FROM BOTH EYES?

Not as long as you keep on following my blog.

One Response to “Google Drive: Cripples Edition”

  1. I LLLLIIIIIIIKKKKKEEEE how you write Jesus 😛

Leave a Reply

