Dropbox: Your dog can’t eat your homework anymore.

Hello fellow earthlings!

So, here’s what happened to me quite recently: I lost my USB device. Of course, I was stupid enough to think ”Nah I won’t put my files on my computer. I carry them with me all the time! I won’t LOSE THEM.

Yeah sure. It turned out I did lose quite a few files. Unfortunately, some of them were valuable. A wash of reckless stupidity and tremendous shame showered over me. I always lose my USB devices and end up having to redo hours of work that was perfectly valuable HADN’T IT BEEN LOST. Ok, let’s calm down. For the past few days, I have been searching for a solution to my apparent inability to not lose my USB device.

While searching for web tools for teachers, I stumbled upon something that I did indeed make the mistake to overlook for too long: Dropbox.

DROPBOX? WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DROP IN THAT BOX ANYWAY? NAME TAGS? MARBLES? BEATS? YEAH, BEATS! LET’S PARTY!

Not exactly. But when I got reminded of the existence of Dropbox, it struck me that this could be useful not only for me as a young teacher but also for students. Honestly, whoever you are, if you are in a classroom setting, chances are you’ve heard the following sentences more than once:

”I forgot to print my homework.”

”I forgot my USB device at home.”

”I lost my files because my computer crashed. I have to redo it all over so I’m not ready to hand it in.”

”I don’t have a printer at home.”

”My dog ate my homework.”

”I tried to light one of my farts on fire. I didn’t calculate my angles quite properly and ended up setting my homework on fire as well.”

”I lost my homework in the fiery depths of Hell.”

Ok, this is getting out of control. It turns out that Dropbox’s main founder, Drew Houston, himself said that he got the idea for Dropbox after several computer crashes and bugs and after repeatedly forgetting his USB device as a student.

SOUNDS LIKE A FAMILIAR STORY.

Thanks for reminding me. let’s get to the point. In short (praise the website’s straightforward ”About Us” section), Dropbox is a free file hosting service. Don’t you worry my dearest collegues for this little darling allows you to share all kinds of files.

Want to share Word documents? Go ahead.

Want to share images? Your eyes won’t be able to handle how many images you’ll put in your Dropbox.

Want to share videos? Well, buy yourself a damn video camera cause’ you’ll be sharing those videos like there’s not tomorrow!

Want to share Powerpoint presentations, Excel documents, pictures of your grandmother knitting sweaters? There’s nothing stopping you, darling.

Hell, you can share practically anything you want and access those files ANYWHERE and at ANY TIME.

MY GOODNESS! DOES IT MEAN THAT…?

Yes, my friends. Finally, students have no more excuses not to hand in their homework, assignments, and term projects of ANY kind. Mouahahahaha! No more excuses!

I JUST HAD A MINI HEART ATTACK. NO.. WAIT. THAT DOESNT’ SOLVE THE PROBLEM OF BUGS AND COMPUTER CRASHES… STUDENTS WILL STILL BE ABLE TO GET AWAY WITH NOT HANDING IN THEIR HOMEWORK…

Actually, it turns out that there’s more to this baby than meets the eye. As I found on French technological website, PresseCitron, there are ways to reduce even more the risks of losing files due to bugs or crashes:

    1. You can synchronize Word Office files with your Dropbox so that it automatically recuperates files if you encounter problems. What’s really sweet about it is that you can choose how often you want the Dropbox cloud to save your files. Do you want to synchronize your files every minute, every 30 minutes, every hour? The choice is yours. Praise the Lord this feature.
    2. Say you’re thinking ”Ah, but what if I forget to put some files in my Dropbox?” Well, you can choose to synchronize entire folders on your computer with your Dropbox. It’s even safer and you don’t even have to think about putting specific files on the cloud. Problem solved!
    3. Thanks to the IFTTT (« if this then that ») feature of Dropbox, you can create connections between pretty much any of your services (e-mail, evernote, dropbox…). There is not a file that cannot be put on the cloud.
    4. You can receive BIG files directly into your freaking Dropbox, darling. Using the free Dropitto.me, it’s easy to retrieve even large files in your dropbox.
    5. The possibilities are endless. You won’t lose your files anymore.

So, teachers. It sounds to me like trying this out would be worth a while. No more getting away from duty on the part of the students… and on our part as well.

OOPSIES!

Everybody makes mistakes. This just reduces risks of making some of them.

Leave a Reply

